Gujarat Government 2017: Complete list of ministers under Vijay Rupani cabinet


Once a BJP fortress, it has swung against the party these elections, but has managed maximum representation with seven ministers.

Gandhinagar: Vijay Rupani, 61, took oath as the Gujarat Chief Minister at a grand ceremony here in presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah.

Sources said senior party leaders of Gujarat including Rupani, Patel and state BJP chief Jitu Vaghani had a meeting with Amit Shah on Monday to finalize the names for the new cabinet. Gujarat governor OP Kohli administered the oath of office. Besides them, the new government of Gujarat will have eight Cabinet ministers and 10 ministers of State.

Jai Ram Thakur elected new Himachal CM
Several names were doing the rounds for the past few days, including those of Nadda, MLA Suresh Bharadwaj, Dhumal and Thakur. The BJP took nearly a week to decide on the Chief Minister after its chief ministerial candidate Dhumal lost the election.

Although the BJP secured a clear victory in the Gujarat state elections, it won with comparatively lesser margins as the saffron party won 99 seats, a total of 16 seats less than last time, casting doubts on the candidacy of Vijay Rupani for another term as Chief Minister.

Of the nine Cabinet ministers sworn-in, five were retained from the previous ministry. This is the second term for both the leaders in their respective positions. Joining the Rupani team as ministers of state are Pradipsinh Jadeja, Parbat Patel, Jaydrathsinh Parmar, Ramanlal Nanubhai Patkar, Parsottam Solanki, Ishwarsinh Patel, Vasanbhai Ahir, Kishor Kanani, Bachubhai Maganbhai Khabad, and Vibhavari Dave.

The Bharatiya Janata Party government in Gujarat, which took oath to office today, includes six Patidar leaders and only one woman. The Congress on the contrary had done exceedingly well in regions dominated by Patidars while its traditional voters from the OBC and Dalit communities in the state seemed to have split and voted in great numbers for the BJP.