MLAs disqualification: Truth prevails in the end, says Arvind Kejriwal


The poll panel takes a decision and sends its recommendation to the Rashtrapati Bhavan which is accepted.

A Gazette notification of the Government said the 20 AAP MLAs stand disqualified in office-of-profit case.

Delhi Congress president Ajay Maken said the Election Commission and the BJP delayed the disqualification of AAP MLAs to help them. "When they could not do anything, they disqualified our 20 MLAs", Kejriwal said in his address in Najafgarh. Both BJP and Congress have sharpened attack on AAP demanding Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's resignation.

The AAP has made a decision to fight it out in the courts, where its principal line of argument will be that the MLAs did not hold offices of profit as Delhi High Court had set their appointments aside in 2016. The AAP insisted that despite holding the office these MLAs did not take any salaries or perks.

AAP leaders have refuted the allegations and termed it a witch-hunt.

The AAP had termed the EC's decision as "arbitrary" and taken in haste just days ahead of the retirement of Chief Election Commissioner A K Joti - on Tuesday. "There is a higher power who knew that three years down the line, they will disqualify 20 of our MLAs, and that's why it gave us a whopping 67 legislators", he said.

Pakistan Can Live Without US Aid, Says Pakistan Foreign Minister Khawaja Asif
US Ambassador to the United Nations, Nikki Haley has said, the UN Security Council should step up pressure on Pakistan to change its behaviour .

Prasad had referred the matter to the Election Commission on November 16.

The Commission said, its opinion is based on judicial pronouncements of the past, the Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi Act and the Constitution.

It was displeased by the MLAs' conduct of telling the poll panel not to go ahead with the matter as the issue has been challenged in the HC.

Rai said the party members in all 70 constituencies will join the Confederation for All India Traders (CAIT) when traders observe a day long "Delhi trade bandh" on January 23 to lodge their protests against ongoing sealing of business establishments in the city.

The MLAs who have been disqualified are Alka Lamba, Adarsh Shastri, Sanjeev Jha, Rajesh Gupta, Kailash Gehlot, Vijendra Garg, Praveen Kumar, Sharad Kumar, Madan Lal Khufiya, Shiv Charan Goyal, Sarita Singh, Naresh Yadav, Rajesh Rishi, Anil Kumar, Som Dutt, Avtar Singh, Sukhvir Singh Dala, Manoj Kumar and Nitin Tyagi.

This is unedited, unformatted feed from the Press Trust of India wire.