Three San Antonio Chefs Among 2018 James Beard Award Semifinalists


ALLISON LONG | Chef Michael Corvino (left, shown here with cook Matt Stowe) is a semifinalist for Best Chef: Midwest in the James Beard Foundation's 2018 Restaurant and Chef awards.

2014 James Beard Award semi-finalists, announced at East End Market, included James and Julie Petrakis, Henry Salgado, and Hari Pulapaka.

Abkin is up for "Best Chef in the Northeast", as are five of her culinary peers from Boston and 14 others from Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut, and NY. (He was previously listed under his restaurant Público.) Grupe, Luo and Shelton are first-time semifinalists in the category, though Shelton was a semifinalist last year in the national "Rising Star Chef of the Year" category. Must have been a pastry chef or baker for the past five years. That year, South Beach's Juvia won a Beard for Outstanding Restaurant Design.

"Going back, it's been present since I was a dishwasher many years ago", Coltivare's chef Ryan Pera tells PaperCity.

Olympic Hockey Schedule 2018
This time , the pass made it through, and Mursak beat Zapolski on the stick side, to win the game. The second game for the USA was to be played against Canada, and no one knew what to expect.

"It feels great today that I was nominated", he says. Tammy Ljungblad | Lemon meringue pie is one of many sweet creations that Megan Garrelts makes at Rye. In the Southwest, metro Phoenix chefs earned three nods.

Separate from its chef and restaurant awards, and announced well in advance, the America's Classic Award is meant to recognize establishments of "timeless appeal" that serve food "that reflects the character of their communities", according to the foundation. Other repeat Houston nominees include Vaught and Anvil Bar & Refuge. While the James Beard Foundation has declined to take away their medals, it has responded to mounting public pressure to address this in the awards process.

The equality aspect is evident in the gender split for this year's awards. He has been named a semifinalist in that category every year since 2008.